shut your mouth
Pronounced:
Friday, October 07, 2011
09:58:01 PM


That is because it is friday man
Pronounced:
Friday, October 07, 2011
10:10:51 AM


I love you
Pronounced:
Friday, September 09, 2011
11:34:30 PM


You talk to Glenda and see if she is making chowder.
Pronounced:
Thursday, September 01, 2011
11:08:13 PM


I am from Plainfield, New Hampshire
Pronounced:
Thursday, September 01, 2011
01:54:16 AM


Hello how are you
Pronounced:
Thursday, August 18, 2011
06:11:10 PM


Hello how are you
Pronounced:
Thursday, August 18, 2011
06:10:40 PM


Nicole
Pronounced:
Tuesday, August 16, 2011
07:39:46 PM


Stove
Pronounced:
Thursday, August 11, 2011
05:38:03 AM

Example....her cah sall stove up where she ditched it. General term describing damage commonly used with vehicles....


hi how are you
Pronounced:
Monday, August 08, 2011
12:23:42 AM


bon fire
Pronounced: bahn fiah
Monday, August 01, 2011
09:44:16 PM

heard many times around my wifes family. I have transplanted to Maine and am starting to pick up the slang along the way


lobster
Pronounced:
Thursday, July 21, 2011
02:28:48 PM


Where
Pronounced:
Thursday, July 21, 2011
02:28:31 PM


Where too in Maine? Have a lobster for me. (Thats how we pronounce it there
Pronounced:
Thursday, July 21, 2011
02:28:13 PM



Pronounced:
Thursday, July 21, 2011
02:27:31 PM


divorce

Friday, July 15, 2011
02:20:28 AM


divorce
Pronounced:
Friday, July 15, 2011
02:20:09 AM


Beer
Pronounced: beah
Thursday, June 09, 2011
08:11:27 PM


go over there
Pronounced:
Wednesday, June 08, 2011
10:54:36 AM


way up there in deep wods Maine
Pronounced:
Thursday, April 14, 2011
03:03:26 PM


hello, yes, harold, cant come to the phone right now,what,, well, says, to not lay down , the hikers always, in the weeds, and, find them from his boat, so don't
Pronounced:
Friday, April 01, 2011
03:47:03 PM

HELP! i am writing a paper that is due tomorrow, with several sentences from a conversation with a Mainer. i desperately need the Mainah way of writing the words! can you send it to me by Saturday noon? Oh pleaseplease? Thank you!!!!


i like to talk to you luas
Pronounced:
Saturday, March 26, 2011
11:26:12 AM


veni-back (come back) - combination of french/english. Also c'est okay -its okay!
stop and go light (as opposed to traffic signal). Iceout -- Ice out but pronounced ice-oot! I had to have this one translated when living in Maine -- it meant that the river was flowing and the ice was going out.
Thursday, March 17, 2011
01:57:50 PM

I lived in Maine duringi the l960s - my husband had to translate for me constantly - not only the french/english but the other words that made no sense to me until he explained - such as ice out. My friend from Maryland visited and asked for translation of ayah. It could meana yes, no, I agree, I didn't hear you, hello, I understand, etc. etc. Now that is one heafy duty word!


Chrysler Town and Country Minivan
Pronounced:
Wednesday, March 16, 2011
12:37:30 PM


sir
Pronounced:
Saturday, March 05, 2011
05:05:03 PM


Jill Swerzenski
Pronounced:
Wednesday, February 23, 2011
07:28:29 PM


brush your teeth
Pronounced:
Wednesday, February 16, 2011
10:41:27 AM


no, no
Pronounced:
Monday, February 14, 2011
06:54:58 PM


Supper
Suppah
Wednesday, February 09, 2011
08:11:37 AM

You go anywhere else in the Country for the most part and it's called "Dinner". In Maine we're gonna sit down an have are suppah.


We can't drive our (cars) in the snow or get out of our trailers to go to the market and get more maine lobsters.
Pronounced:
Friday, February 04, 2011
03:04:21 PM


Give it some gas
Hammah Down!!!
Wednesday, January 12, 2011
08:45:32 PM

Drivin in Maine can put you in a lot of different situations.... Anytime someone from Maine sees a bad situation ahead and they yell HAMMAH DOWN, you best be givin it some gas!!!! AYUH


Wood Lot
Pronounced:
Sunday, November 07, 2010
03:05:46 PM


Going up to camp.
Pronounced:
Sunday, November 07, 2010
03:04:56 PM


might
Pronounced: might
Thursday, November 04, 2010
08:36:32 PM


wilbur might die we need to save him!
Pronounced: wilbur might die we need to save him
Thursday, November 04, 2010
08:35:50 PM


wilbur where did you get that box
Pronounced:
Thursday, November 04, 2010
08:33:05 PM


wilbur might die we need to save him!
Pronounced:
Thursday, November 04, 2010
08:31:06 PM


love
Pronounced:
Tuesday, September 28, 2010
12:37:11 PM


down at the store
Pronounced:
Tuesday, September 28, 2010
12:33:15 PM



Pronounced:
Tuesday, September 21, 2010
03:42:25 PM


I'm trying to trick it
Pronounced:
Thursday, September 16, 2010
05:21:00 PM


maine cant
Pronounced:
Thursday, August 12, 2010
06:08:12 PM


sure
Pronounced:
Sunday, August 01, 2010
10:02:43 AM


I want to go to the store
Pronounced:
Saturday, July 24, 2010
09:51:26 PM


north
Pronounced:
Saturday, July 17, 2010
12:51:10 PM


Summer
Pronounced:
Friday, June 25, 2010
11:07:17 AM


Yesah
Pronounced: Yes AH
Wednesday, March 10, 2010
05:24:41 AM


Friendly area
Pronounced:
Thursday, March 04, 2010
02:26:48 PM


We sure do know how to stay warm
Pronounced:
Friday, February 05, 2010
10:19:48 PM



Pronounced:
Wednesday, February 03, 2010
06:14:05 AM


the door yard
Pronounced: the door yard
Friday, December 04, 2009
04:36:58 PM

In Connecticut we call it the driveway. I could never figure out where the door yard was. Was it the front door, back door or side door. No it was just plain the driveway.


Family name Morse
Pronounced: Moss
Friday, December 04, 2009
04:35:18 PM

When we were first married, 40-years ago, my husband and I rented a camp at Shin Pond. He kept calling the owner by the name Mossey. When I finally saw the name in writing, it was Morse.


Yes
Pronounced:
Tuesday, October 20, 2009
10:40:58 PM


Flush
Pronounced: Flush
Monday, August 03, 2009
01:49:18 PM

Flush = Toilet


Shouldn't you?
Pronounced: sh'unt'ya?
Saturday, August 01, 2009
06:41:09 AM


Lanie Miliotes
Pronounced:
Tuesday, July 21, 2009
07:10:27 PM


Lanie Miliotes
Pronounced:
Tuesday, July 21, 2009
07:10:08 PM


Bumper Sticker
Pronounced: Bumpah Stickah
Saturday, July 18, 2009
07:09:08 PM

I am originally from Maine and this is how we always said this word


yes. i'm going to eat some lobsters and sail in the sound
Pronounced:
Friday, July 10, 2009
03:54:10 PM


mark
Pronounced:
Thursday, July 09, 2009
05:37:44 PM



Pronounced:
Monday, June 15, 2009
09:05:25 AM


Parked my car in Harvard Yard.
Pronounced: Pahkt mah cah ein Hahvahd Yahd.
Monday, June 15, 2009
08:32:00 AM

A phrase said by an "outtah statah".


harvard yard
Pronounced:
Saturday, June 13, 2009
10:59:55 PM


clim
Climbed
Sunday, May 31, 2009
11:42:29 AM


park the car in the back yard
Pronounced:
Thursday, May 21, 2009
12:22:54 PM


stupid
Pronounced: smat
Tuesday, April 28, 2009
12:07:34 PM


the son-in-law
Pronounced: tah sohn-un-lah
Tuesday, April 28, 2009
12:06:00 PM


book
Pronounced: buhk
Tuesday, April 28, 2009
12:05:06 PM


book
Pronounced: i like
Tuesday, April 28, 2009
12:04:27 PM


i ate lobster for dinner
Pronounced: i ite lobstah fah suppah
Tuesday, April 28, 2009
12:03:39 PM


laptop
Pronounced: laht-doht
Tuesday, April 28, 2009
12:02:56 PM


lobster
Pronounced: lob-st-ah
Tuesday, April 28, 2009
12:01:36 PM


lobster
Pronounced: lob-st-ah
Tuesday, April 28, 2009
12:01:35 PM


car
Pronounced: cah
Tuesday, April 28, 2009
11:58:25 AM

i hate maine


oh yeah
Pronounced:Uh Yuht
Tuesday, April 28, 2009
11:58:19 AM


Stapler
Pronounced: Stayyyyplah
Friday, March 06, 2009
03:08:12 PM


wicked
wik-ed
Friday, February 27, 2009
08:04:53 PM

wicked is usually used outside of Maine as something that is evil or bad. To Mainers, the word wicked means something really interesting and exciting. The phrase, "Wicked Good!" is used often with excitement example: "That blueberry pie is was wicked good!" The word can also be used in the evil or bad way such as, "the wind is wicked today!". For those outside of Maine who might happen to hear something like ... "Wasn't that wicked?!" could interpret it as something was very bad when the Mainer who said was more than likely explaining something exciting and more than likely 'good' or 'bad'. If you are from away, have a wicked good day!


yes, yup
ayuh
Friday, February 27, 2009
07:53:10 PM

sort of like a combination of yes and yup.


Something
Pronounced: Sum-tin'
Thursday, February 12, 2009
07:13:56 AM


Hey you
Pronounced: Yo
Thursday, February 12, 2009
07:13:10 AM

"Yo" is said in response to someone calling you from a distance. "Yo" indicates that you heard them, as well as pin pointing your location while out of site.


Hour
now-uh
Thursday, February 12, 2009
06:12:53 AM


I about imagine
'bout 'magin!
Tuesday, February 10, 2009
06:29:09 PM


I doubt that
D'oww
Tuesday, February 10, 2009
06:28:22 PM


What is the matter?
Wuh suh-mat-uh? Or Smat-tuh?
Tuesday, February 10, 2009
06:27:06 PM


because
Pronounced: Bee-cuz
Saturday, February 07, 2009
10:13:02 PM


Bangor
Bang-go-uh
Friday, February 06, 2009
02:49:26 PM

One of the guests where I work is originally from PA and he started pronouncing Bangor "Bang-grrr" (Banger). I have been patiently teaching him the correct pronunciation. He went from Bang-grrr to Bangora trying to the the "uh" on the end of the word. He states he is trying to blend in and if he wants to fit in being new to the city he has to learn to pronounce Bangor correctly. He is a good sport at it!


Pencil
Pronounced: Pensl
Thursday, February 05, 2009
03:02:16 PM


Water
Pronounced: Wadduh
Friday, January 30, 2009
04:33:27 PM


Sure
Show-uh
76.179.48.227

Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Windows NT 5.1; .NET CLR 1.1.4322; .NET CLR 2.0.50727)
Wednesday, January 28, 2009
08:37:37 PM


Deer
Pronounced: Dee-yuh
72.29.154.115

Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 6.0; Trident/4.0; SLCC1; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; Media Center PC 5.0; .NET CLR 3.0.04506; .NET CLR 1.1.4322; InfoPath.2)
Monday, January 26, 2009
12:46:54 PM


Talk
Pronounced: Tawk
72.29.154.115

Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 6.0; Trident/4.0; SLCC1; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; Media Center PC 5.0; .NET CLR 3.0.04506; .NET CLR 1.1.4322; InfoPath.2)
Monday, January 26, 2009
12:46:11 PM


something
Pronounced: sah'mm
76.179.48.227

Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Windows NT 5.1; .NET CLR 1.1.4322; .NET CLR 2.0.50727)
Friday, January 23, 2009
05:19:41 AM


bar
Pronounced: baaa

park the caa and go to da baaa


Holy Jumpin
Pronounced:

my grand father has said this for as long as i can remeber


Holy Jumpin
Pronounced:

my grand father has said this for as long as i can remeber


Spoon
Pronounced: Spwoo-un


Pizza
Pronounced: Peetzer, or peetzah


Pizza
Pronounced: Pizzer


WordPhrase: Salsa
PhoneticallySpelled: Pronounced: Seltza

Notes


WordPhrase: Here
PhoneticallySpelled: Pronounced: Heeya

Notes


WordPhrase: Here
PhoneticallySpelled: Pronounced: Heeya

Notes


WordPhrase: Car
PhoneticallySpelled: Pronounced: Cah

Notes


Milk
Melk